Certain providers working at a federally qualified health center or rural health clinic might be eligible to participate in the program. These providers must submit documentation to support meeting the 30 percent “needy patient” volume threshold, which is based on patient encounters over three full consecutive months. “Needy patient” volume can include:

  • Medicaid clients.
  • CHIP clients.
  • Client services provided as uncompensated care.
  • Client services provided at either no cost or reduced cost based on a sliding scale determined by the person’s ability to pay.

Eligible professionals attesting as FQHC or RHC providers must “practice predominantly” at an FQHC or RHC. This means that over 50 percent of total encounters must be at an FQHC or RHC for a six-month period in the previous calendar year or in the preceding 12-month period.

Eligible professionals include physicians (M.D. or D.O.), dentists, certified nurse midwives, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants in FQHCs / RHCs that are led by a PA. “Led by a PA” includes clinics where a physician assistant is:

  • The primary provider in the clinic; or
  • A clinical or medical director at the clinic; or
  • The owner of the clinic.

Physician Assistants who participate in the program must upload a signed PA Attestation Form each year of participation.