The Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act, enacted as part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, promotes the adoption and meaningful use of health information technology. Under the provisions of the HITECH Act, Texas Medicaid established the EHR Incentive Program in 2011. In 2018, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services renamed it the Promoting Interoperability Program. By law, no new enrollees were allowed into the program after 2016. The program sunsets in 2021.

The program provides incentive payments to certain Medicaid health care professionals and hospitals that meet specific eligibility requirements when they adopt, implement and meaningfully use certified EHR technology.

Participants must be actively enrolled in Texas Medicaid and be licensed as one of the following provider types:

  • Physician (M.D. or D.O.)
  • Physician assistant
  • Nurse practitioner
  • Dentist
  • Certified nurse midwife
  • Optometrist

Participants must also have at least 30 percent Medicaid patient encounters (20 percent for pediatricians) and successfully meet federally established program metrics and quality measures. Participants can receive up to six annual incentive payments totaling $63,750.

Participants apply for incentives through a single sign-on process on the Medicaid provider site at TMHP.com. Participants attest to the various program requirements and upload supporting documentation. Participants might be subject to an audit of any incentive payment received and must retain documentation for at least six years after each payment.

Detailed information about past and present program requirements can be found on the CMS website.