FAQ

What is the Texas Medicaid EHR Incentive Program?

As part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009, federal incentive payments will be available to doctors and hospitals when they adopt certified Electronic Health Records (EHR) and demonstrate use in ways that can improve quality, safety, and effectiveness of care (“meaningful use”). Eligible professionals (EP) can receive as much as $63,750 over six years for Medicaid and $44,000 over a five-year period through Medicare.

What is an eligible professional (EP) and how do I know if I can apply?

CMS defines an eligible professional* for the Medicaid Incentive Program as such:

  • Physicians.
  • Nurse Practitioners.
  • Certified Nurse-Midwife.
  • Dentists.
  • Optometrists.
  • Physicians Assistants who practice in a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) or Rural Health Clinic (RHC) that is led by a Physician Assistant.

*NOTE: EPs may NOT be hospital-based. This is defined as any provider who furnishes 90 percent or more of their services in a hospital setting (inpatient or emergency room).

I am an eligible professional (EP), but not a Physician Assistant, and I work in an FQHC or RHC. Am I eligible for the incentive program?

You are eligible if you "practice predominantly" in an FQHC / RHC and meet all other program requirements. For providers participating in 2013 or later, to "practice predominantly" means that the EP has more than 50% of his total encounters in an FQHC or RHC during a six-month period within the previous calendar year or during the 12-month period preceding the date of attestation.

What is the difference between the Medicaid and the Medicare EHR Incentive Programs?
Can I qualify for the Texas Medicaid Incentive Program if I am not a doctor of medicine or osteopathy?

No, the Medicaid Incentive Program defines an eligible professional (EP) as:

Pages